Whole 30, day 8

this program is starting to slip easily into my routine. i can now tell when i’m getting too many carbs very easily. i’ve become very sensitive to the sweeties i consume. again with the raisins as the example, just a small handful makes my stomach hurt. it feels very natural for me to follow this plan. do i miss sharp cheddar? more than you can ever know.Β  i could gladly let go of the chocolate chips after meals, cream in my coffee, or maple syrup on my pancakes (what pancakes?!) for a slice of cheese. but, alas… we stick with the plan. i’ll get you cheese, someday i will get you…

also, since i kicked my nasty gluten-free pretzel snacking habit between meals, i’ve found myself making up for it in crunching on salty nuts quite often. that has to stop. nuts are for nutrition, not for mindless munching. a hard habit to kick, though, because really they’re the only between-meal protein snack i have.. ideas?

breakfast: 2 scrambled eggs and 2 strips of bacon on tapioca flat bread. coffee with coconut cream.

snack: nuts and a peach

lunch: turkey, avocado, sprouts, red peppers. an apricot.

snack: more nuts! ugh!

dinner: hasselback sweet potato, sausage in a skillet. cherries and a peach.

results: filling and salty and tasty! i think this savory sweet potato would make an awesome breakfast with some dippy eggs and sausage. yum!

yes, that is a puddle of ghee that the potato is wading in!

this recipe serves 2

hasselback sweet potato

2 small sweet potatoes

3 tbsp olive oil

S & P

chopped basil

ghee

method: preheat oven to 425f.

slice most the way through your potatoes, about 1/3″ apart. be sure to leave it in tact at the bottom of the potato.

cover in oil, salt, and pepper.

if you prefer a soft potato, cover in foil. if not, bake it directly on rack with a cookie sheet under to catch the oil for 45 minutes.

once it is finished, unwrap, load up with ghee and chopped basil.

voila! oh so good!

11 thoughts on “Whole 30, day 8

  1. Hi Liz, I really enjoy and have fun reading your post, you are so funny ( what Pancakes?) LOL. Ill be starting Whole 30 by next week. Still have some shopping to do. Thanks for posting the recipes also… Keep it on πŸ™‚

    • thanks delvis!
      i figure we’re all in this together! i’ll be posting as many recipes and suggestions as i can, and i hope that you stop back and comment frequently with ideas and tips, as well.
      have you done WH30 before?

      • Im actually primal/paleo for 1 1/2 years already, and lost 44 pounds altogether. I fell healthier than ever before, but I have been eating a little crazy lately, due to my work schedule. But thats it! Time to keep it on, i need to get back on track. Thank so much, I’ll sure stop by often.
        Happy follower! πŸ™‚

      • yes, i’ve been primal eating for maybe 4 years. i stumbled a little when i had juniper, with our late night nursing sessions. -always gluten free, but not so primal, with the gf pretzels or crackers.. not to mention the primal ingredient, but still not great for you pancakes, waffles, muffins.. you get it. anyhow, this is a great way to put me back on track!

  2. What is your coconut cream method for coffee? I’ve been wanting to go dairy free for a while but I’ve found giving up the cream in my coffee just so darn difficult!

    • rebekah-
      you can either scoop out the solids from a cold can of coconut milk, or purchase coconut cream concentrate. the first option is most “dairy-like” and quite neutral in flavor. it is super creamy, but is really an expensive way to go about it as each can yields about 3 servings of coffee since you won’t be using the water left in the can for your coffee!
      the second is less dairy-like, but quite delicious. you will note slight coconut flavor in your coffee, but will enjoy it, i promise. it is almost like a latte, really. a huge jar may look expensive, but is worth its weight in gold and will go a super long way. you will find yourself using it for everything on the block, i promise you.
      here is a link to my favorite:

      http://www.tropicaltraditions.com/coconut_cream_concentrate.htm

      don’t buy the stuff in the store. it isn’t fresh, it usually has junk added to it, its flavor is substandard, and it is harvested without the farmers in best interest.

      • THANK YOU for the reply and for the link, I’m going to give it a shot. Re: the first option. I’ve never been able to find a jar of full fat coconut milk that didn’t have guar gum added to it. I bought a brand once but it wasn’t creamy enough, no separation took place in the can even when refrigerated. The guar gum thing isn’t a total deal breaker because I have been known to use the sub par stuff from the store that has lots of junk added to it. I’ve got to swear off that stuff though. After my husband’s 40th birthday getaway next week I have got to take the plunge and make even more dietary changes. I’ve been grain and starch free for a few months, strictly so and I’m never going back. I don’t eat beans, potatoes, or any grain at all. I have inflammatory issues, autoimmune triggered arthritis, and I believe diet is a major factor. But I need to go 100% dairy free (I don’t think 85% is gonna cut it) and see what happens. And I may need to give cutting out nuts (I am almond obsessed) and eggs a try at some point too. I am least open to cutting out eggs at this point. That will probably the last thing I give up. It’s sooo hard! I’d like to try your tapioca flat bread too, but I fear the tapioca flour will be too much of a cheat. It is starch. I just don’t know what I’ll do without my almond bread and almond pancakes. Any ideas? If I give up almonds I may need to see how I handle a small amount of sweet potatoes in my diet or another type of grain free bread. I need me SOME carbs, Geesh!

        I love your blog, thanks for maintaining now even though you are busy with baby! She’s a real beauty by the way.

    • rachel-
      do it!
      i’ve never felt better! my tummy feels great! not to say that it is easy, but it is a worthy challenge!
      let us know how it goes!

  3. Definitely go easy on the nuts. They can be inflammatory due to PUFAs and their phytic acid content. Hard boiled eggs (could make deviled eggs with homemade mayo) or leftover meat work great for snack protein options. It’s a good idea to always have some cooked meat on-hand. Do you have the guide or It Starts With Food? There are snack suggestions in there.

Leave a Reply

